IABC Has Lost Its Way


The mess in which IABC finds itself as a result of the bungled communication around the layoff of half its staff is so sad that to say much about it here would just be piling on. I can’t improve on the justified criticism laid out by other leading communicators including Shel Holtz, David Murray and even industry icon Roger D’Aprix, who lamented, “”I have literally spent a career fighting the sort of Friday afternoon massacre carried out by new IABC executive director Chris Sorek.”

I’ll just say that today’s IABC is not the organization I loved and to which I gladly volunteered years of my professional life as an accredited member, chapter president, district director and executive board member. IABC has losts its way, in a big way, and I only hope it can find its way back. The key to its comeback, I believe, will be a renewed focus on its lifeblood — members and volunteer leaders at the local level.

I allowed my membership to lapse, thus giving up my accreditation, a year ago out of frustration with how far IABC has strayed. Here’s hoping they figure out how to attract people like me back to their membership.

 

One Response

  1. I am seriously considering dropping my IABC membership. The only reason I have kept it since becoming accredited is to retain my ABC. I’m not sure it’s really worth $300 to have those three letters after my name. Most people have no idea what they mean anyway, and I have to explain it to them. But it was a lot of work to pass the exam, and I hate to forfeit that. It’s really unfair in many ways.

Leave a Reply

