Rearranging the Furniture


Every six months or so, my dad rearranges the furniture in his house. He has always done this. He did the same thing to his office when he was still working. He declared that a change in perspective is good for the soul.

The same is true in other aspects of our lives. I guess that’s why people change hair styles, eyeglasses, cars, houses and, unfortunately, sometimes spouses. (I’m not advocating the latter; in fact, healthy changes within a marriage can make it exciting again.)

I’m about to rearrange the furniture of my career. After nearly 12 years as an independent consultant, I’m rejoining the ranks of full-time corporate employment. I’ve accepted a job as employee communications manager with a Fortune 500 company based here in Richmond, Va. I’m not mentioning the name of the company in this blog because I don’t yet know what the company’s social media policy says about such things. But it’s a global business and a strong company with great people, as far as I can tell.

I’m excited about this new chapter in my life. Yet, it is bittersweet. Anyone who has poured their heart and soul into a business they’ve built from scratch knows what I’m talking about. It’s like saying goodbye to one of your kids.

I’ll write more about this change in the days ahead. That will help me process what is happening and, hopefully, will give you some things to think about, too. I don’t blog now nearly as often as I’d like, but I hope to continue even after my start date of January 3, 2012.

For now, I’m going to sit in the rearranged furniture and try to get used to it. I’m sure I’ll see some things that I haven’t seen before.

 

4 Responses

  1. CONGRATULATIONS, Robert! Wow, your new employer is lucky to snag you as a full-timer. Enjoy a happy Christmas and merry new year, and then it’s on to the newest adventure in your career, for which you can take PAID vacations again! 🙂 Take care. ~~Jean

    • Thanks, Jean! I have to admit, that is one of the things I’m really looking forward to. I will work hard, but it will be nice to take vacation and not have to worry about how I’m going to pay the bills.

  2. Congratulations, Robert, and I wish you much satisfaction in your return to full-time work.
    Pat
    p.s. If you need a communications consultant when you get to your new position, let me know! 😉

  3. Robert

    Many congratulations. I know it must be bittersweet. But with change comes a new perspective and with a new perspective comes growth. I know the company (as you know), so they have definitely discovered gold. I hope they appreciate you as much as you deserve.

    Cheers

    Mark

Leave a Reply

