And Now For Something Really Important

I don’t use this blog for blatantly commercial reasons. Sure, I hope readers will get a sense of who I am and what my work is all about and think of me when they could use the skills and expertise I offer. But really this blog is commercial free.

I’m making an exception in this entry, but I hope you’ll stick with me. You see, what I’m plugging here is vitally important.

In April, the life of one of my dearest friends changed suddenly and forever. Faith called me early one morning and said she needed my help. She had not been feeling well for quite a while, went to an urgent-care facility and they told her to go directly to the emergency room of a local hospital. And they told her she shouldn’t drive herself because she was seriously anemic.

I stayed with Faith all day while doctors and nurses came and went, taking blood samples, asking questions, giving her fluids and blood transfusions in an effort to keep her strong. A few days later, she received the diagnosis everyone dreads: cancer. Specifically, Faith is fighting Hodgkin’s disease, a type of blood cancer that spreads through the lymphatic system.

I won’t share too many details about the road Faith has traveled since then. Anyone who knows someone with cancer understands how difficult this disease and its treatments can be — and the personal nature of the fight. Suffice it to say that Faith is a courageous and determined young woman. She is nearly halfway through her chemotherapy regimen and she is winning this battle. The chemo is doing its work.

What’s more impressive to me is how Faith has decided to engage the enemy. She has faced it head-on. She follows the doctor’s orders that have led to significant changes to her diet and her daily routines. She has educated herself on the disease because knowing your enemy is one of the first steps to defeating it. And, like many other cancer patients, she has used her experience for greater good. Faith has formed a team of friends and family who are raising funds for cancer research through the Light the Night Walk that takes place this fall. It’s sponsored by The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Faith’s Hope Team is well on its way to its goal of raising $5,000 for cancer research.

I’m a member of Faith’s Hope Team. I’ll be walking on October 29 in honor of my friend who has enriched my life so much. I invite you to sponsor me in this walk and help me surpass my personal fundraising goal of $350. Visit my page on the Faith’s Hope Team website. It’s easy to make a donation.

Faith is living proof of the value of research into causes and treatments of blood cancers. I hope you’ll help me honor my friend this way.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers